# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING LLAY COMMUNITY COUNCIL HELD IN LLAY CHURCH HALL ON WEDNESDAY 16<sup>TH</sup> SEPTEMBER 2020

In Attendance: Clirs B Apsley, S Apsley, D Owen, D Adams, S Roberts, R Walsh, J O'Keefe, W Austin, K Cupit, P Taylor, L Jones, K Powell Apologies: T Boland, S Watson, J Osborne

Prior to starting the meeting, the Chair asked all to join him in observing a moments silence in memory of those who have passed since the last meeting

## 1. To approve the Minutes of the 2019 Annual Meeting.

The Chair asked for the Minutes of 2019 Annual Meeting to be approved. J O'K proposed, with RW seconding and this was carried unanimously.

#### 2. To elect a Chairman of the Council.

DO proposed, with RW seconding that Cllr Bryan Apsley be elected as Chair. There were no other nominations and Cllr Bryan Apsley was elected as Chair.

# 3. To receive the Chairmans' declaration of acceptance of office or, if not then received, to decide when it shall be received.

The newly elected Chair will sign and return the acceptance of Office, countersigned by the Proper Officer of Llay Community Council (The Clerk), by 21<sup>st</sup> October 2020.

- 4. In the ordinary year of election of the Council, to fill any vacancies left unfilled at the Election by reason of insufficient nominations (Not Applicable 2020)
- 5. To decide when any declarations of acceptance of office which have not been received as provided by law, shall be received. (Not Applicable 2020)

#### 6. To receive the report of the outgoing Chairman.

The Chair stated how proud he was to be the Chair of Llay CC and thanked all for their continued support. He looked forward to continued success for Llay CC in the forthcoming year.

# 7. To Elect a Vice Chairman of the Council.

RW proposed that Cllr Dennis Owen continue as Vice Chair with JO'K seconding. There were no other nominations and Cllr Dennis Owen was duly elected.

# 8. To appoint representatives to outside bodies.

The Chair stated that Cllr Jan Osborne and Cllr Sandra Apsley had indicated they were both happy to continue as the Llay CC representatives for One Voice Wales. PT proposed with DO seconding that Cllr Jan Osborne and Cllr Sandra Apsley continue as our representatives and this was carried unanimously.

## 9. To appoint committees and sub committees.

In the current circumstances, it was agreed to keep all committees and sub committees as they were in 2019. Meetings will take place as when it is safe to do so.

## 10. To receive a record of members attendances at meetings of the Council

The attendance document had been presented to all Councillors ahead of the meeting. With regard to attendance, the Chair informed all he had received a written request from Cllr Boland for a continuance of his period of absence as he continues to battle his ongoing health issues. This was approved unanimously by all Councillors.

There being no further business, the 2020 Annual Meeting closed at 1847.

(*signed on original*) B Apsley Chair 16<sup>TH</sup> September 2020